District 48 Leeds and Grenville was formed in 2011. Our members include those who work in and retire from education – including child care and early years, schools and school boards, post-secondary, private schools and more. We play a key role in helping members stay active and connected – with each other and the community.

District 48 is situated on the ancestral traditional territories of the Anishinabek, Huron-Wendat, Haudenosaunee (Iroquois), Oneida and Haudenosaunee (St. Lawrence Iroquois) peoples. We recognize that this territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties. We also acknowledge the urban Indigenous communities in our district.

District 48 Leeds and Grenville recognizes the inequities connected to colonization and commits to working towards creating a just, inclusive and vibrant community for all.

We invite our members to reflect the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action.


Members and growing

District 48 Leeds and Grenville President

William Leroux

District 48 Leeds and Grenville Executive

Name Role Email
William Leroux President / Présidence
Mary Smitheram First vice-president / Vice-présidence
Karen Kerr-Kennedy Secretary / Secrétaire
Anne Cooke-MacMillan Treasurer / Responsable de la trésorerie
Mary Smitheram Membership coordinator / Responsable des adhésions
Helen Earl Goodwill coordinator / Responsable de la bienfaisance
Elaine Warner-Laxton Newsletter editor / Responsable de l’infolettre
William Leroux Health coordinator / Responsable de la santé
Gord Hough Political advocacy coordinator / Responsable de la mobilisation politique
Mary Smitheram Website coordinator / Responsable du site Web
William Leroux Corporate member 1 / Membre collectif 1
Mary Smitheram Corporate member 2 / Membre collectif 2
Mary Smitheram Community grants coordinator / Responsable des subventions communautaires
Lisa Leroux Community grants coordinator / Responsable des subventions communautaires
Gord Hough Governance coordinator / Responsable de la gouvernance
William Leroux RPW Organizer / Responsable APR
Karen Kerr-Kennedy RPW Organizer / Responsable APR

Learn more about RTOERO

Not a member yet?

Join today! Membership is free until retirement.